Day 71-76 – June 14 – 19, 2017

  • UPDATED PRAYER REQUESTS
  • That this UGLY tumor is shrinking away and will be gone by surgery and there is no other cancer in my body
  • That I stay healthy, that my counts stay where they need to be so that my chemo stays on schedule
  • That this new chemo works and continues killing the cancer cells
  • Some of the possible side effects from this new chemo include neuropathy.  Please pray that I do not experience any neuropathy.
  • Another one of the side effects is body pain.  Please pray that the body pain is at a minimal. 
  • I have developed a rash on my arms – pray this rash goes away.
  • Pray for no mouth sores – another chemo side effect

The new chemo I am on is so different than the last one!  I can’t believe how much better I feel.  I have even mentioned to a few friends that compared to how I felt after each round of AC that this feels like I am not even taking chemo.  Now, do not get me wrong, I have still had some side effects but I do not feel anything like I did on the AC.  I am hoping that it continues going as well as the first week.  1 Taxol treatment down 11 to go.  I am typing this on chemo morning.  So I will be headed to the cancer center in just a bit to get round 2 of Taxol.  Please pray that I do not have any allergic reactions to the chemo.  They told me last week that the allergic reactions normally happen while you are still there and normally during the first two treatments.

Last Wednesday, the day after chemo, I even felt well enough to drive my daughter to VBS.  That is kind of  a big deal considering on the AC I was usually in my pajamas from the Tuesday night after the chemo treatment until Friday when I had to get up and go to the oncology office for fluids.

Day 72 – June 15, 2017.  I met with the nutritionist at the cancer center.  It was a great appointment and I have added a few things to my diet that I was scared to even take a bite of.  Things that maybe I will not be eating everyday but things that I can have every once in a while at least.  She talked with me about how to eat to avoid recurrence.  One of the things is a lot more vegetables than I eat.  I would love to hear from some of you about the kinds of veggies you really like and maybe how you prepare them.

After I had my appointment with the nutritionist, I saw my nurse.  I noticed a rash on my arms on Wednesday so I stopped in to let her see.  Even as I am typing this almost a week later, I still have the rash.  Please pray this rash will go away!

Day 73 – June 16, 2017.  This was a very busy week.  This was the day I met with the plastic surgeon.  Wow, I learned alot at that appointment.  This appointment stressed me out a little.  I have to remember though, the Great Physician will take care of me.  Some of the stuff with the surgeries are scary or it is for me anyway.  I will have another appointment with him in about 6 weeks or so and we will know more about when the surgery will be because I will be closer to finishing my treatments.

Day 74 & Day 75 – June 17 – 18, 2017.  We had a nice relaxing weekend.  We enjoyed Father’s Day by going to church that morning and then having some friends over in the evening and cooking out.

Speaking of friends, I feel so blessed to have so many friends walking this journey with us.  This is very random, but you may remember in one of the beginning post when I was getting my wig and my daughter wanted me to make sure I wore the wig if I was up at the school or around her friends that didn’t know about me not having hair.  I still wear my wig to church and sometimes if we go to dinner…but a lot of times I just wear a scarf because y’all, it is summer!  It’s HOT!  Anyway, if you were to come to my house there is a 99% chance I will answer the door with no head covering on.  Now, where am I going with this…back to friends walking the journey with us.  Our friends do not even look twice, it’s just like it is the norm…their kiddos, E’s little friends just come on in and start playing.  I am sure in the beginning they may have ask their parents about it or their parents gave them a heads up.  The other night, I even jokingly said to my friends husband, I have more hair than you right now:).  I am grateful that God helped me through the whole hair loss thing from day one.  I can see where hair loss could really be hard but thankfully God let it be an easier thing for me.  Now, I am still curious what color my hair will be when it all comes back in.

Day 76 – June 19, 2017.  This day was pretty much a normal summer day at our house. I worked some and then  I started a new Bible study  that I can’t wait to work through over the summer with a sweet group of ladies.

As I mentioned above – the day I am typing this – June 20th  is chemo day.  I have to go get my chemo bag ready so I will be ready to go when Amy P. gets here.

I will update soon about round 2 of Taxol!

Thank you all for walking this journey with us,
Amanda

Psalm 118

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    his love endures forever.

Let Israel say:
    “His love endures forever.”
Let the house of Aaron say:
    “His love endures forever.”
Let those who fear the Lord say:
    “His love endures forever.”

When hard pressed, I cried to the Lord;
    he brought me into a spacious place.
The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid.
    What can mere mortals do to me?
The Lord is with me; he is my helper.
    I look in triumph on my enemies.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in humans.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
    than to trust in princes.
10 All the nations surrounded me,
    but in the name of the Lord I cut them down.
11 They surrounded me on every side,
    but in the name of the Lord I cut them down.
12 They swarmed around me like bees,
    but they were consumed as quickly as burning thorns;
    in the name of the Lord I cut them down.
13 I was pushed back and about to fall,
    but the Lord helped me.
14 The Lord is my strength and my defense;
    he has become my salvation.

15 Shouts of joy and victory
    resound in the tents of the righteous:
“The Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!
16     The Lord’s right hand is lifted high;
    the Lord’s right hand has done mighty things!”
17 I will not die but live,
    and will proclaim what the Lord has done.
18 The Lord has chastened me severely,
    but he has not given me over to death.
19 Open for me the gates of the righteous;
    I will enter and give thanks to the Lord.
20 This is the gate of the Lord
    through which the righteous may enter.
21 I will give you thanks, for you answered me;
    you have become my salvation.

22 The stone the builders rejected
    has become the cornerstone;
23 the Lord has done this,
    and it is marvelous in our eyes.
24 The Lord has done it this very day;
    let us rejoice today and be glad.

25 Lord, save us!
    Lord, grant us success!

26 Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.
    From the house of the Lord we bless you.
27 The Lord is God,
    and he has made his light shine on us.
With boughs in hand, join in the festal procession
    up to the horns of the altar.

28 You are my God, and I will praise you;
    you are my God, and I will exalt you.

29 Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    his love endures forever.

 

One thought on “Day 71-76 – June 14 – 19, 2017

  1. About veggies, I love sweet potatoes baked on the grill like normal potatoes. I just wash them, wrap them in foil, and toss them on. They are yummy!! Now I have to admit, we throw EVERYTHING on the grill. Eggplant, yellow squash, carrots, asparagus, corn on the cob, onion (whole). As far as fruits, we grill pineapple, peaches, and pears. Ok, I’m hungry!! I’m so happy you saw the nutritionist!! Happy healing, your in my prayers ❤

    Like

Leave a comment