Uncategorized

Day 63 – Day 70 / June 5, 1017 – June 13, 2017

UPDATED PRAYER REQUESTS

  • That this UGLY tumor is shrinking away and will be gone by surgery and there is no other cancer in my body
  • That I stay healthy, that my counts stay where they need to be so that my chemo stays on schedule
  • That this new chemo works and continues killing the cancer cells
  • Some of the possible side effects from this new chemo include neuropathy.  Please pray that I do not experience any neuropathy.
  • Another one of the side effects is body pain.  Please pray that the body pain is at a minimal. 

UPCOMING APPOINTMENTS

  • Meeting with the nutritionist that is at the cancer center this week. She is going to be talking to me about how to eat to help prevent recurrence.  My eating has changed drastically since I was diagnosed.  I am really excited to sit down with her and talk all this out.
  • Meeting with the plastic surgeon this week.

 

Day 70, June 13, 2017,  I started a new phase of chemo. I will now be going in weekly for chemo.  Today’s treatement was number 1 of 12.   The new chemo medicine is Taxol, the chemical name is Paclitaxel.  I am suppose to not feel as yucky on this one.  I am actually typing this the night I had my chemo, so I would say, so far, so good!

I did find out before they administered the chemo that there were possible allergic reactions that I could have.  They would most likely have happened during today’s treatment or my treatment next week.  I did get a little nervous when they told me that but they also had a basket sitting near me, on the same bench Amy P was sitting on, just in case I did have the reaction, they had the meds there to help with it.  I am happy to report, PRAISE THE LORD, I had no reaction!!

Before they started the chemo, I did a quick a quick Facebook post asking for my Facebook friends to pray.  Thanks to everyone that saw that and said a prayer for me.  PRAYER WORKS!!

My friend, Amy P took me to chemo again today.  She has been such a great friend to get me to chemo treatments.  Keith took me to the first one, but Amy P has taken me to all of them since then.  I told her I did not expect her to take me weekly this summer….but she has already signed up for some of the treatments.  Thank You Amy P, we appreciate you!!  This treatment day was a long day…she picked me up at 9:30 and we did not get back to my house until after 5 and then she hung out until Keith got home which was way after 6:00.

Amy P and I on chemo day!

My hands are in a bucket of ice and my feet are covered with ice. This is to try and help prevent neuropathy and loss of nails.
I am also thankful for my friend Mary Margaret that let me drop E off at 9:00 on this first chemo day during summer, she made sure she had a super fun day, when I dropped E off, she was making the kids pancakes and eggs, and even fed her dinner tonight and had her ready for bed before Keith got there to pick her up.  Love how these little friends enjoy playing together!

So thankful for all of my village!  I know I say that all the time but we truly are.  Everyone has different gifts and I love how people use the gifts they have been given to make up a huge village to walk with us.  Because not everyone has the same gifts, that is what makes each person unique  but when all those different gifts come together, it is amazing.  Thank you to those that PRAY, PRAY, PRAY for me and for my family, those that cook for us, those that drop cards in the mail, those that send text, Facebook messages, and emails, I know I am missing things because this chemo brain is a real thing…if you are not around me much but know someone who is just ask them:).

The days since my last post (Days 63 -69) have been good days for the most part!  I worked some, took E to activities she had, went to church and even made it to our Life Group (aka Sunday School),  had a girls night out with a friend (this is the first time I have done that since I was diagnosed (that I can remember anyway, don’t forget I have chemo brain).  It was fun and much needed!  I also went to a board meeting at church.  Keith’s parents were in town over the weekend to celebrate Keith’s birthday.  So you can see with all I did, I was feeling pretty good.  I was tired by night usually, but thankful to be able to do some things I was doing before the chemo.

Thank you so much for walking this journey with us,
Amanda

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.  Psalm 46:1

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 63 – Day 70 / June 5, 1017 – June 13, 2017

Leave a Reply

