Uncategorized

Day 23 – April 27, 2017

UPDATED PRAYER REQUESTS

  • That this ugly cancer is SHRINKING
  • My counts come up – they were low at my appointment Monday and were low at the hospital Tuesday
  • That I stay well so my chemo stays on schedule

I received the BEST phone call yesterday!  I had my genetic testing done on April 6th.  They told me it would probably be four weeks before we would get the results.  Well, 3 weeks to the date I received the call and both BRCA 1 and BRCA 2 were NEGATIVE along with the other 28 gene mutations they tested for!!!  This is HUGE!

After it set in yesterday, I shed a few tears of joy and thanked God for this! This means that my chances of recurrence is no different than any other person with my type of cancer. This means I do not have to worry if I have passed the gene down to E. Had any of these been positive, my risk would have increased. I do have to follow up with them every 1-2 years in case there is a new test that I might need to do.

I have been given permission to share this.  Later in the day, I was saddened to hear someone else I know was diagnosed with this ugly disease.  She just found out yesterday.  Please add Julie to your prayer list. Pray for a good doctor visit and the peace that only God can give during a time like this. Like me, she agrees the more prayer the better! I told her I would ask my friends to add her to their prayer list too.   We were able to chat briefly yesterday when she told me and then text last night.  It shows how God can use my cancer,  3 weeks and 2 days into this journey to reach out to others. Just like 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says, “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”

The weekend before my next round of chemo is here.  I am trying to psyche myself up for next Tuesday. The first round, I went into it not knowing how I would feel and what side effects would hit me. This time I have a little more knowledge about it. I just keep thinking, after this treatment I am half way done with the specific chemo that is causing the side effects.  The last treatment and the next three consist of two chemo drugs. It is called AC and made up of Doxorubicin and Cyclophosphamide.  One is known as “the red devil” and I think I can understand why it is called that…it is red, but it is the one that causes some of the side effects I had last week.

I am not done with chemo after these four treatments, but the doctors and nurses have told me that the Taxol will be easier than this now.  I will actually get that treatment weekly for twelve weeks.

We continue to be amazed at the love and support shown to us during this time.  The calls, texts, messages, and most importantly the prayers!  I know that I have to take this one day at a time but to know an army of people is covering us in prayers daily makes a difference!

Thank you or walking this journey with us,
Amanda

Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or more come together in my name, there I am with them.  Matthew 18:19-20

2 thoughts on “Day 23 – April 27, 2017

  1. So thrilled the Lord is showing Himself in big ways! You are doing great! We will be praying Tuesday for continued shrinkage! Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

