Mammogram, Biopsy

April 3, 2017 – Mammogram

I had scheduled my yearly mammogram for April 3, 2017.  I am always a little nervous when I go in just because of the unknown.  I have been having a diagnostic mammogram for a while now which means they read the mammogram while I am there just in case a sonogram is needed.

When the technician walked back in my room I was expecting to hear “everything looks good, we will see you next year” BUT that is not what I heard.  This time I heard they saw something that was not there last year, and we need to take you to have a sonogram.  The tears started flowing at that moment I do believe.

Once I got situated on the table and they started doing the sonogram I was still crying and crying and crying. As she was looking and finishing up I was told that the radiologist was coming in to talk to me and that I was probably going to need a biopsy…more tears….

The radiologist came in and told me that we did need to do the biopsy and my first question through all the tears was could we do it that day.  She said they were working on it but needed to ask me a few questions which I answered in about one minute or less and  then she said we would need the doctors orders. The sonographer was standing behind me and said we had the doctors orders so they sent me to another room to talk with the nurse and for me to sign the consent forms.  How could this really be happening.  I was a mess!

When they told me I needed a biopsy I called my husband who was supposed to be flying out that day for about 5 days.  He was able to make arrangements not to leave town and oh I am so glad he did.  My phone had very little charge and when I moved to the little room before my biopsy someone found a phone charger that I could use to charge my phone. I was texting several of my friends what was going on and my sweet doctor called me and tried to calm me down and while we were talking the nurse came in and said time to go back for the biopsy.

Another radiologist performed the biopsy and then the waiting game began.  I am not a patient person when it comes to waiting on things like that and I probably drove my doctor crazy with the texts I would send her, but I was praying that whatever the radiologist had seen was not bad.

Amanda

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7  NIV

 

Leave a Reply

